Some pretty cool things are going on.

9 Jun

First off, I sent my address to Jill Wignall the lady behind Today I Saw. When Jill sees something she draws it on a blank postcard and sends it to someone. I got my address in at the last second! Her project is over this July, having done it for a whole year. I feel so lucky to be getting one:

On another note, Thankfully the oil spill in the Gulf of Mexico is starting to be controlled. I’m certainly not a hippy or deep environmentalist, anti-oil and all the rest. But the disaster is a huge concern of mine. The clean up will be one hell of a job. On one of the blogs I follow, they had a link to a little application where you could put the size of the oil spill over your home region, just to put it into perspective. I was blown away at how large it is over my home area. Seeing the small satellite picture on BBC News doesn’t really do the scale justice. So, if the spill was over Calgary, this is how it would look:

Scary.

In other news, I have gotten myself a volunteer position at abrecords. A little recording studio here in Calgary. I’m basically going to be a gopher, filling envelopes, getting office supplies and updating social networking sites. I think it will be a great opportunity. Down the line it might open doors for photography opportunities and may turn into a job down the line. I’m really looking forward to it.

Leave a Reply

