There went 2nd year (again)

16 Apr

Two years left! Yesterday was the final day of classes for my second year (third year at ACAD.)

Now all that is left is three one-on-one sessions with my instructors and all is golden.

I’m making up a portfolio for one of my teachers and it’s really cool to have an overview of what I’ve accomplished this term and the year as a whole. I don’t feel I’ve learnt much until I talk to people and answer questions. It’s really gratifying to see how far I’ve come and see my chances of “making it” increase all that much more.

Now I have to focus on packing and getting out of residence and finding work.

On the more crafty side of things, LR found a book he really wants to get. It’s called Fashion Geek written by Diana Eng. With my sewing skills, his crochet and tech skills we should be able to create something pretty amazing.

High fashion goes digital with Diana Eng! In Fashion Geek, Diana pioneers an emerging generation of tech savvy women crafters (or would-be crafters) who demand stylish yet practical designs that are chemically charged. Now you can take simple, girly items such as a hoodie or scarf and transform them into must-have techno-accessories through approachable, step-by-step directions. Full-color photos make it easy to see how every project comes to life.

From what I gather it’s making clothing that you can fit your iPod in or other tech devices but keeping it subtle. I have a feeling a possible collaboration is in the future. It looks pretty fun, I’m interested to see what kind of projects are in there and how we might be able to change them up for something that might work for one of his MADT (media arts and digital technologies) projects.

This is what happens on Skype.

Leave a Reply

