That Question

25 Feb

I have a meeting with one of my instructors, Beau Lark, on Monday. It’s nothing major but he’s put that question in my mind again. “Why are you in photography?”

When I think about it, I don’t really know.

Here’s what I can think of about why I like photography:

– I like having an image, exactly how I saw it, through my own eyes, literally, shown to other people and they can get so many interpretations out of it.

– I’m not very good at drawing things realistically, which I don’t see as a bad thing, but when I really want to convey a message or an image that I can’t draw – I take a photo of it.

– I love looking through old family photos, especially now that I’m older. I am a very nostalgic person so if anything my photos are a record of my life in a more “artistic” way.

Apart form that… I’m not really sure. I love drawing when I put my mind to it, I love sewing and graphic design and so many other things. I certainly don’t expect to be in the photography box in my practice. I also don’t feel i must have a style to make it. It’s just a hell of a lot of confusion and inner termoil when someone asks me that question and I can’t answer.

Hopefully Beau can help me out with this.

One Response to “That Question”

  1. Dorothy February 28, 2010 at 11:17 AM #

    Just wanted to say that it seems to be a great way to see the stuff in the world and help others to see it that way. You are also good at capturing emotion. Perhaps photography is one aspect of expressing the artistic you, which also comes out in many other ways because it is you.

Leave a Reply

