crit + lensbaby

27 Sep

It’s been a bit since the last post. I’m trying to think of everything that has gone on since the last ramble.

I got a crit (critique) on the “nothing ordinary” shot. The way crits are tending to work is the group talks first about what they like, don’t like and the message if there is one and so on. I found it amusing that there was a short discussion on the invasion of privacy and how we are always watched. When I explained what it was and the “meaning” much lighter followed by some laughs that made me happy. It also made me happy that some people saw it so different than what i was thinking. I understand it is an “invasion” of sorts but there is no actual recording device on it. I never saw it as something that deep. That is one thing about the critiques as its a conversation around the work and you can see how other people think and feel about it.

I’m not sure i mentioned on here before but i am cross stitching Warhol’s banana. It is going well. I’ll be happy when I’m finished with all the dark browns and move on to the yellow. The small portion of yellow i have done looks really nice on the bright pink fabric i dyed before starting. I’m also starting a geometric pattern borrowed from a band i quite like and a portrait of Daniel Radcliffe. Reason for the last one being that the pattern was in a cross stitch magazine i bought and i thought it was hilarious. It will be about 4×6″ in size so why not.

Apart from all that classes are pretty average so far. Not much work is really developing in them as of yet as the “nothing ordinary” was the first assignment that wasn’t purely technical. In the Devices and Processes class we have had to produce a contact sheet using equivalent exposures to demonstrate different f/stops with the right shutter speed will yield the same photo in tone but differ the depth of field. We’ve had to do another but with a moving object as the subject. Of course the slower the shutter speed the more blurred.

I have been playing with my Lensbaby Composer a fair amount. Just taking photos of nothing in particular. The two i like the most are below. That is really it for now so until then…

OFF

Kart it Up

2 Responses to “crit + lensbaby”

  1. Ryan September 27, 2009 at 1:15 AM #

    You need better titles for your photos.

  2. eradrargend December 11, 2009 at 2:00 PM #

    Authentic words, some truthful words dude. You made my day.

Leave a Reply

