devices + processes + magazines

8 Sep

Today was the first day of “devices and processes.” A mostly technical course that should prove to be quite interesting and an essential foundation. We do have an assignment a few of them. Reading chapter one from the required text “A Short Course in Digital Photography” written by Barbara London and Jim Stone. Then we need to come up with a recipe for a photograph. Any photograph. I’m planning on writing mine like an average food recipe. With light, charisma and all the rest being ingredients. We also need to bring in an image we appreciate and our camera bags for a little show and tell of equipment and what we are working with to date.

As for the image I appreciate I have no idea where I am going to go with this. I might very well end up going with something I have just seen or a classic photo that I’ve always been drawn to. Problem is I’m not exactly sure what these things are going to be as of yet. I have a week to think about it and execute, plenty of time in school terms.

Speaking of things I have recently seen I made a trip to a local book store to check out magazines and some books. Magazine wise I picked up a couple usual ones. Varoom, and print. Non-regulars are (t)here and GUP. (t)here seems to be a bunch of location photos of interesting and bizarre things. Run down buildings and the like. GUP or Guide to Unique Photography is odd to me to say the least. I like some of the things in it. But overall it’s a bit too much of a shock factor and without explanation for what the photos are about I’m a little lost in translation.

I did buy one book of interest which is called “Rest is Up to You: A Boy Named Cohen Morano, 118 Artists, and a Watercolor Revolution.” The concept is great. This is the product description from amazon.com:

“Like many kids, first-grader Cohen Morano likes to watercolor. What’s different about his paintings is that his father, Aye Jay, sends them out into the world to be added to and altered by a stellar roster of lowbrow artists, children’s illustrators, and street and graffiti artists. The resulting collaborations between Cohen and everyone from Gary Baseman to Shepard Fairey to Paul Frank form a stunning and playful body of work, with a focus on the creativity of childhood.”

One thing I really like about the book is that on some of the works you can read a transcript of what Cohen thinks of the finished work. Some of the things he says about it are quite amusing.

Cover

Leave a Reply

