March 26th 2001

26 Mar

Today we woke up at 5 AM to catch a train. It was very beautiful. The ride was 3 hours long and the scenery was… unexplainable! I can now see why dad can remember a lot about this country. Today we are in Florence. We will stay here for 3 days, make that nights. Today we did a little bit of touring. We went into a church called… I have forgotten but I’ll list the name when I get a book or ask someone. [Basilica of Santa Croce.] But inside it was “wow.” This is where they have a whole lot of people laid to rest. It is interesting because there is a white slab of marble in the floor, carved with the person or words inscribed saying who it is. Among the people there are – Da Vinci, Galileo, Michelangelo and a story writer. ( I can’t remember the name at the moment.) [Rossini] I took photos of them though. Tomorrow we are going inside the Duomo and inside another place to see the real “David.” It should be interesting.

I have noticed the gypsy people in some of the squares asking for money. I do feel sad about them but it is hard to tell if they really need it. We are meeting our guide tomorrow at 9 AM which I think is nice because we get to stay off our feet for a while longer.

Everyone is in one room for a party. I did not go mainly because I wasn’t invited but I feel I need some alone time right now. I am going to read for a short while then go to bed.

Leave a Reply

